Regional Breakdowns Using ACS Five-Year Data

Throughout this report, many charts contain regional breakdowns (Eastern Plains, San Luis Valley, Central Mountains, etc). For those graphs which reference "Bell analysis of 2019 ACS five-year data," the regional boundaries are derived from IPUMS <u>Public Use Microdata Area (PUMA)</u> data and Colorado Department of Local Affairs <u>regional breakdowns</u>. Specific counties included within each region are below:

- Front Range counties: Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Broomfield, Denver, Douglas, El Paso, Jefferson, Larimer, Pueblo, Teller, and Weld
- Central Mountains counties: Chaffee, Clear Creek, Custer, Fremont, Gilpin, Huerfano, Lake, Las Animas, and Park
- Eastern Plains counties: Baca, Bent, Cheyenne, Crowley, Elbert, Kiowa, Kit Carson, Lincoln, Logan, Morgan, Otero, Phillips, Prowers, Sedgwick, Washington, and Yuma
- San Luis Valley counties: Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, and Saguache
- Western Slope counties: Archuleta, Delta, Dolores, Eagle, Garfield, Grand, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Jackson, La Plata, Mesa, Moffat, Montezuma, Montrose, Ouray, Pitkin, Rio Blanco, Routt, San Juan, San Miguel, and Summit

Regional Breakdowns Using 2018 CASOA Subgroup Comparison Data

For those charts with regional breakdowns (Eastern Plains, San Luis Valley, Central Mountains, etc), which reference "2018 CASOA Subgroup Comparisons," these regions are based upon already established AAA regions. Breakdowns are below:

- Front Range communities: Regions 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B, 4, and 7
- Central Mountains communities: Regions 13 and 14
- Eastern Plains communities: Regions 1,5, and 6
- San Luis Valley communities: Region 8
- Western Slope communities: Regions 9, 10, 11, and 12